Skip to content

8 Painted Pianos

April 16, 2013

When I was a kid, my sister and I took piano lessons and we had an old upright piano from my grandmother that we would use for practice (when we actually practiced, that is). I’m pretty sure I didn’t make it much past Hot Cross Buns, but the piano stayed in the house until I was in high school, when one of my cousins was old enough to start lessons (he fared about the same as us–we are not a musical family).

Even though we didn’t stick with lessons, that piano was toyed with pretty frequently.  I remember teaching myself to play songs from an old hymnal while I waited for the school bus in the morning, and of course, when all the cousins would come over, we would play variations of Heart and Soul, Chopsticks, and Mary Had a Little Lamb for hours.  I’m sure my parents enjoyed those little concerts. 

I don’t really have the space in my house for a piano at the moment, but I keep an eye on Craigslist for one nonetheless.  I love the idea of having an old upright in the house, and I especially love all the painted pianos I’ve been seeing lately.  What a great way to restore the beauty of the instrument!

Take a look at some inspiration. Maybe that dusty old piano your kids have abandoned needs a new coat of paint. Yellow? Turquoise? Eggplant?

I bookmarked Design Mom’s grassy green piano years ago, and still find it so inspiring.  She goes into some detail about just how she managed it here.

This school bus yellow is so cheery! From A Bit of Sunshine

Bright white can help reduce the visual mass of a piano–this one looks almost airy. From Rose Covered Cottage

This grey-blue one is lovely as well.  From Kammy’s Korner

This turquoise number might be my favorite. From Addicted 2 Decorating

Or how about fire engine red? This reminds me of Schroeder from the Peanuts cartoons. From Ladybird Ln.

This navy blue is a nice, formal alternative to black.  I love it against that green wall. From Where the Fish Live

 This is so clever! It makes the piano look like it’s a part of the wall. From One Kind Design

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 16, 2013 8:19 am

    Looks lovely! I’m a big fan of the yellow one :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 576 other followers

