Skip to content

Front Porch Additions: Before and After

May 8, 2013

When I was a kid, we rarely did major home renovation projects.  If we needed a larager house or a better kitchen or a second story, we just moved to a house that fit our needs better.  That’s what happens when you have a realtor for a mother. So, even though I’ve mentioned before that I have a soft spot for front porches,  I’ve never really thought about renovating an exterior to add one onto an existing house.  I just thought I’d be sure to always buy homes with front porches!

These before and after photos from Better Homes and Gardens have changed my mind, though.  These front porches were all added on decades after the original house was built, but they look like they’ve been there all along! Here are a few of my favorites, but you can see all 15 or so porches here.

Before
The front porch had been removed from this lovely Victorian

After
This home looks so stately with the porch restored!

 

Before
Even small houses deserve porches!

After
Can you believe this is the same house?

 

Before
This city home looks sort of run down

After
I love this modern look

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 575 other followers

