Skip to content

Friday Feature: Charming Details

November 30, 2012

Allow me to divulge a secret: I am two months away from my 30th birthday and I’ve moved well over a dozen times. This is what happens when your mother is a realtor, although I also take some of the blame, since 7 of those moves have occurred in the past 8 years.  What can I say? I love moving! In fact, a friend of ours recently moved into our neighborhood and, although we are currently living in a house that we both absolutely love, I was practically salivating as soon as we walked into her empty apartment.  I’ve got problems, you all.

I say all that to say that when my family and I reminisce about our past homes, we don’t talk about the ones with the perfect sized bedrooms or the best home inspection.  No, we fondly remember the quirks.  The shallow pantry made for canned goods, the towering mulberry trees in the backyard, those decorative spindles separating the entry from the sunken living room, the extra deep fireplace mantle, those curved doorways, and on and on. So, when I look at homes now, I look for those special details that make a house unique.  These homes, all listed with Century 21 Excellence, and all pretty new on the market, too, each has a little quirk that could easily get my signature on the dotted line.  But I’m not looking for a house right now.  (that is a lie, I’m always looking for a house.)

Well, hello, Mr. Swimming Pool.  You are lovely.  The other thing I’m digging about this home is all that outdoor space.  I’m always shocked at how much time we spend on our porch swing and back deck over the spring, summer, and fall months.  And I love the multi-level decks going on here.  So cool for entertaining. This one is listed by Jean Roberts, so give her a call at (614)863-0180 if you’re interested.

First of all, those of you who know me well know that this home had me at the first picture and clinched the whole thing with the red barn.  (I have a homesteading fantasy) And yeah, I get it, there are stickers on the kitchen cabinets.  But you know what? I am seriously loving that teal and white kitchen–how hard could it possibly be to steam off those little decals? And then you would have an absolutely perfect little farmhouse kitchen.  And you could get a PONY, probably! This lovely property is listed with Ken Draper and you need to call him (614-863-0180) before I do.

This house belongs on a Christmas card, it’s just so pretty and stately.  But the real feature, to me, anyway, is all those built-in cabinets and shelves.  We live in a house with a bunch of built-ins and I can’t tell you how much I love them.  They are so beautiful and functional.  This one is listed with Tracey Hartson & Assoc. and you can call them at 614-863-0180 for more information about this lovely home.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2012 2:45 pm

    What a charming home! I love the fireplace and the property looks lovely.

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Feature: Blank Slates « Excellence at Home

Leave a Reply

