Skip to content

Hooked on Nooks

December 5, 2012

When I was a kid, every time we moved, I only had one request for the new house.  It wasn’t a pool, or a bigger room than my sister’s.  All I asked for was a window seat.  I had visions of snuggling up with blankets and pillows, a bowl of popcorn, and a good book and just hiding away.  I’ve always been drawn to these cozy little nooks, and still dream of having one in my house. Look at these beautiful examples and tell me you don’t want to jump right in and draw the curtain.

Image from Belle Maison

This is exactly what I would have wanted as a child.  I love those layered cushions, too!

From Belle Maison

Image from DesignSponge

The elements of this are so inexpensive (paper lanterns, muslin curtains, cup hooks), but the combination is so ethereal and lovely.

From DesignSponge

Image from Desire to Inspire

Who says these nooks can’t be modern too? (and who says you need a window?) High contrast and tailored upholstery make this a sleek alternative to the more folksy alternatives.

From Desire to Inspire

Image from The Mommy Files

This one is actually doable if you’ve got a spare closet. I can’t get over the little ladder–so cute!

From The Mommy Files

Image from Mon Cabanon

Those oval enclosures are so space-age! Bunk beds are much more appealing this way, I think.

From Mon Cabanon

I’m dying.  This is on a houseboat.  A HOUSEBOAT.

From Water Loft

Image from Ana White

If you can’t make a permanent nook in your house, here are some plans to build a temporary one! This may actually happen in my house…

From Ana White (an awesome source for diy furniture plans, by the way)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2012 10:19 am

    I’m about to pack it ALL up and beg them to take me aboard that houseboat – – I am in love!

  2. Anna permalink
    December 5, 2012 11:08 am

    I love the first one and the contemporary one. My taste can not decide on the comfort of “homey” or the clean lines of contemporary. Maybe I’ll build one in the basement, it currently has no sense of style at all.

Leave a Reply

