Skip to content

Easy Chairs for My Old Age

January 22, 2013

Today is my 30th birthday! I am very excited for my age to finally start lining up with my old-person lifestyle!  I mean, my dream day would include hours of knitting on the couch while listening to audiobooks and watching a Ken Burns documentary on PBS, so I’ve been preparing for for my own retirement for a while now.

In honor of this big birthday, I’ve decided to do a bit of dream-shopping for modern easy chairs to support my aching bones in my old age.  Here’s what I found!

Womb Chair: $3,282

Nice and supportive, with good armrests for optimal knitting positioning.

Cloud Chair, By Lisa Widen

This one reclines on rails, although I may need to reserve this for the last chair I’ll ever sit in, since I’d probably be unable (also unwilling) to get out.

Metropolitan Chair & Ottoman: $3,895, $1,693 respectively (OMG)

Don’t mind if I do.  If I spent this much money on a chair, though, I wouldn’t be able to sit on it (let alone put my feet on it!)

Bliss Down-Filled Chair-and-a-Half: $599

This would be a great place to watch The Price is Right for hours every day.

Colorblock Finn Rocker: $1,698

This is such a beautiful rocker.  Rocking is pretty much as close to exercising as I get right now, so it would be good to carry my fitness regimen into my old age with some style!

Dylan Leather Wingback Chair: $2,199

I shall call it my throne and from it, I shall reign supreme for at least another 30 years!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kelly.macdonald@century21.com permalink
    January 22, 2013 7:46 am

    Happy Birthday! Keep up the good work, I so enjoy your posts!
    Sent via BlackBerry from T-Mobile

  2. Amy Irene permalink
    January 22, 2013 7:50 am

    If buying one of these chairs could somehow guarantee you’d continue blogging for the next 30 years, I’d start tithing to the womb chair! Happy, Happy Birthday!!

Leave a Reply

