Skip to content

Porch Swing Inspiration

March 14, 2013

We have a nearly religious relationship with our front porch.  Any night when the weather is decent, you can find us out there, sometimes just us, sometimes with friends, sometimes with snacks, always with wine.  Our current arrangement is one standard-issue porch swing, a small, battered coffee table that we plucked from the neighbor’s trash, and two white rocking chairs.  Occasionally, we have to pull some dining room chairs out there to provide more seating, which is very classy looking, trust me.  One day, though, I’d like to really do up the front porch–to treat it with the love that I genuinely feel for it and the time we’ve spent out there–from laughing with friends to rocking the baby to sleep on the swing.  It’s been good to us.

Spring is coming, and with it, front porch weather! Check out my inspirations for my dream porch below:

 

I love all this white and that swing! And look! There’s even space for my trash-picked coffee table… From Nest Egg

 

 

Curtains around a porch are so romantic and beautiful, don’t you think? Unfortunately, they would look sort of out of place on my 1920s bungalow. Pity. From Your Decorating Hotline

 

 

This one is almost too good. I’d never get my friends to leave.  From Fine Craft Guild

 

 

Cozy and comfortable meet modern.  From Fine Craft Guild

 

 

I like that this treats the outdoor space as another room, worthy of thoughtful decorating.  That pouf is a great idea as both a coffee table and extra seating.  From The Inspired Room

 

Oh, the sleeping porch.  Best. Invention. Ever. From Front Porch Ideas and More

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2013 8:01 am

    Oh, your porch sounds already great. Best feature is friends n wine… Forget the sofa! that;s just a bonus. 😉

    • Jillian permalink*
      March 14, 2013 1:27 pm

      I agree! I love the old-timey feel of rocking on the porch, waving to the neighbors, sipping wine, and catching up with good friends. 🙂

  2. Kelly Mac permalink
    March 14, 2013 8:52 am

    I love the thought of sleeping on the porch, but what about bugs flying around while you’re trying to sleep? I hate bugs….

    • Jillian permalink*
      March 14, 2013 1:23 pm

      Hm, yes, bugs are a problem for me, too. I think a ceiling fan would take care of that, though–or maybe a gauzy mosquito net?

Leave a Reply

