Skip to content

Decorative Shutter DIY

April 17, 2013

There are a lot of houses out there that have very plain, flat fronts with little bitty windows.  Whenever I see a house like that, I think to myself, “That house could use some shutters.” I actually probably say that sentence at least once a week, no lie.  I don’t think I’ve ever lived in a house with shutters, but I think they look so nice and can really help to add some interest to the exterior of a home.  And if you’re thinking of selling anytime soon, curb appeal is huge.

Apparently, though, they can get pretty pricey. Shutters are the perfect diy project, though! They can be as simple or as complicated as you want, they don’t have to bear weight or anything, so no danger if you have to finagle a few things, and you get lots of bang for a very small price tag.  I mean, check out this before and after from Lettres de Mon Moulin and tell me that is not a huge difference:

 

Want to give it a try? The Idea Room has a great tutorial for The simple shutters below.  It only took one hour to make a pair! Give it a try!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

