Skip to content

Inspiration: Modern Pastels

April 24, 2013

I love the soft colors of spring.  The buttery yellow daffodils, my neighbor’s lilac bush, the soft pink and white peonies that will be blooming soon, the gray skies, and the tender green of new leaves on the trees–these pastels are just so pretty! I find that I shy away from pastel colors when I decorate, though.  I guess I worry that things will get a little too old lady-ish or precious for me.

But it’s totally possible to incorporate lots of these softer shades and maintain a modern feel. The key seems to be to ground those airy colors with some natural materials (think unfinished wood or stone) and more serious shades, like charcoal or taupe.  Check out these examples from around the web and think about adding some of these fresh hues to your home this spring!

1. From decor8 blog

2. From decorpics

3. From Yvestown

4. From House and Home

5. From Decoist

6. From House and Home

7. From Better Homes and Gardens

8. From Korhani blog

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

