Skip to content

Cherry Season

June 3, 2013

It’s June, which means that cherry season has begun! Last week, I couldn’t resist dropping a truly gigantic sack of cherries into my grocery cart, with the intent of making a pie over the weekend.  The problem with cherries is that they are just too beautiful to sit uneaten in a bowl for two days.  By Saturday, I had to send David out for more, and between that and the meager remains of the first bowl, we were able to create something pretty spectacular, if I do say so myself.

Cherry Pie

I had never made a cherry pie, and I think I’ve only ever eaten it with the gummy, canned pie filling. This is another species of dessert, entirely. Here’s the recipe.

I used a store bought pie crust (Trader Joe’s brand crusts are a dead ringer for homemade), since I had to spend about 30 minutes pitting cherries.  With a toothpick. I followed this tutorial, and it was ridiculously tedious, but well worth the effort.  Once that was done, there were only a few other ingredients to add (I used this recipe), and then everything was dumped into the crust and baked up and suddenly my entire neighborhood started to get really jealous of our dinner guests.

I think next I’ll try this cherry jam from David Lebovitz’s blog–just cherries, lemon, and sugar and you get this!

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amy Irene permalink
    June 3, 2013 10:49 am

    Someone at work just asked me about my weekend and all I could think to talk about was that pie!!

Leave a Reply

