Skip to content

How to Childproof Your Home

February 26, 2014
Modern Kids Products by Santa Rosa Kids & Nursery KidSafe Home Safety Products

When I was a kid, I don’t really remember any sort of childproofing going on in my house. I’m pretty sure that most of my childhood injuries could have been prevented with some elementary childproofing (for example: store the hemorrhoid cream separate from the toothpaste), but I’m still alive and wasn’t permanently damaged, so I’m not sure how big of a deal it was. Now that I have a child of my own, I cover the major things, like securing furniture to walls, and putting cleaning supplies out of her reach, but I’m not hyper vigilant by any stretch (I have been known to encourage her to slide down the stairs on her belly).

If it sets your mind at ease to be thorough, though, then by all means, lock your house up tight! Houzz.com recently asked a childproofing expert, and the  U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) for some tips and advice for anxious parents. There are things I’ve never even heard of on there, like a cage to put around your stovetop, but they do point out that the best childproofing tool is still good old-fashioned supervision. Check out their take on things over on Houzz.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

