Skip to content

Home Tech: Smart Fire Alarms

October 22, 2014

We’ve been experimenting with some smart home items, and while it’s sort of fun to be able to dim the lights from my iPhone, I like the peace of mind that comes with the smart smoke and carbon monoxide detector. We use this Kidde model ($50), which works with our Wink home hub, and I love knowing that if there’s a fire while I’m out of the house, I’ll be alerted.

If you don’t want to change out your current smoke detector, I just found this new product, called the Leeo Smart Alert.

It’s a plug in nightlight that connects to your wifi and actively “listens” for your smoke detector, fire alarm or carbon monoxide detector to go off. If it hears anything, it will alert your smart phone. I love that it’s portable, so if you rent, you can bring it with you when you go. Plus, it’s really sleek looking. At $100, it’s pricier than the Kidde one, but for renters, I think it’s a great deal.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

